January Selection - Back to Sci Fi?

It feels like a while since we read some Science Fiction, and with Vance and Earthsea coming up in the near future, I thought we could break things up with a sci-fi novel. So here are a bunch of stand-alone SF novels to choose from - some classic and some newer, by a variety of authors, and available in many formats.

This is my first time trying a poll - not sure if you can do multiple choice, but if not, list your likes in the comments.

Comments

I see no poll! I would pick the Ballard novel. Never read it.

Or to be more precise, I haven't read the Ballard, Gilman, or Russell novels, but I really like Ballard though I haven't read much of his work. So I would give Ballard 3, Gilman 2, and Russel 1 points.

I don't see the poll either - I wonder if it was automatically deleted when I edited the post.

So, just vote in the comments as usua1 - 3 points for your first choice, 2 for your second, and 1 for your third.

Thanks
    Chris

Huzzah for Sci-fi!

(I don't think this poll plugin can do rankings like we've done in the past.)

Oh wait, where did the poll go?

I've read Ubik and didn't rate it much. I'm not overly keen on Clarke. I know nothing about the rest, but Ballard's reputation preceeds him.

So, my scores: Vermillion Sands 3, others 2, Song of Distant Earth 1, Ubik 0.

Not overly helpful, I know.

I'd rather we go with a Ballard novel like Drowned World, Crystal World or Crash. So I'll vote for Wilhelm's novel which is really a series of interlinked novellas that seems to be considered here best novel. Her short stories are brilliant.

I can't find Where the Sweet Birds Sang in UK Kindle but if we go for that I'll get a 2nd hand over. I've read little Ballard and found him rather depressing :( Not so keen on Clarke so my preference would be Dark Orbit 3 points, The Sparrow 2 points, Where the Sweet Birds Sang 1 point

Great idea. I've not read any of those books. I'd gladly read any of them.